The Art of Getting Dressed

It is no secret females are inclined to not know what to wear and change indefinite amount of times before leaving the house. I have mastered dressing only once a day, but some mornings I definitely do look at my closet and go…I don’t have a clue what to wear. I’m afraid Stacy London or Clinton Kelly would probably tell me I have enough pieces to furnish 5 wardrobes. So, the reality of my cluelessness is absurd, and every time those words come out of my mouth the twinge of first-world luxury makes me feel like a total buttface. I do not wish I had more. More would be grossly overindulgent. Some days I think I just wish I felt more inspired, which…still kind of makes me a buttface.

For quite some time now I have been wondering if I could go a whole year without buying a single piece of clothing (with the exception of gifts, need or a possible souvenir). Logistically, it is no doubt possible. Fashion, however, is my biggest passion and creative outlet. That would make it a struggle. Out of the blue one day, I came across a blog that was exactly in line what I have had on my mind, but it turns out to be a challenge that has been accepted by quite a few. Check it out here.

If I were to do something like that, I would have to muster a few ways to creatively medicate inspiration on days when I stare at my closet and the pang to buy a new shirt reaches double-charlie-horse bad. Do they make patches for fabric addiction? Like a nicotine patch or Salonpas?
…only made out of a pretty, purple brocade…with buttons
…ooo OR LEATHER.

One sure-cure to any form of tunnel vision? Hang around a kid. And sometimes all it takes is less than a minute to shock you right out of the grown-folk doldrums. (Especially when I lock into a travel game of ‘pass the story line’ with Halla Jo.)

One morning, Jordan decided he was going to dress himself. I was instantly reminded of how time consuming (sometimes frustrating) getting dressed was when I was little. You’re dealing with hole placement, direction, zippers, buttons, strings. Yet, there is a determination, an excitement and an untainted creative approach.

IMG_8921 IMG_8929 IMG_8928

It becomes about how it’s worn, how it’s put on, what purpose it serves. Most of all, it’s about the freedom of doing it yourself. All of it is new. It is self-expression in the most honest form.

I’m not entirely sure if I will commit to buying nothing new for 2014 or not. The idea is intriguing. While I’m not a resolution maker, I do have discipline. It would be a fun challenge to see if I could wear every article of clothing I have at least once this year, considering some things I haven’t touched in a few. It would be interesting to truly maximize what I have, get creative not just in pairing pieces, but how they are worn.

IMG_8925

We get so rutted in how things are that we keep thinking we need something new to gain fresh perspective, and are completely blind to the wonderful array of possibilities of what we already possess if we just throw a few things around and take a step back. Sometimes in order to look at things new, all you have to do is make a little mess of what is already there.

I mean who says a shirt has to go on one way? Hell, who says a shirt is a shirt? Maybe it’s a facemask. Holler, Jordy.

Maybe this blog isn’t even about getting dressed. Maybe it’s about getting changed.

